Things I ate this week: lasagna, the world’s grossest variation on mac and cheese (I got sick. I don’t want to talk about it.), and some cream cheesy breakfast food this morning. Keep me in your prayers.

Also of note: There is a black widow living in our bathroom. Her name is Sharla. She and her husband are recently separated. We have been living in constant fear. I don’t even want to tell you about our alternative bathroom solutions. But don’t worry, we’re going to get some serious poison at Wal Mart today. I don’t want to say we’ve got a spider infestation, but we’ve got a spider infestation.

A pillow talk epiphany: Our mission can be summed up in three words: eat, pray, love. For any of you who think that sounds really ideal, just remember that exercise was not included in that summation. Just kidding, we try, but… don’t be embarrassed as the pictures keep coming every week. But really, it’s a pretty good deal. We just get to pray with people and love them unconditionally and visit the sick and the afflicted and all other good things.

Another story slightly akin to the man in black story from last week. But maybe (definitely) not as freaky. We were working at the food bank, and there were a couple guys there doing their community service. One of them, Joe, is totally cool. We like him. Another one, Richard, is not totally cool. He gives us the heebie jeebies. So we’re chatting with Joe, and Richard keeps interrupting to ask where we live, what kind of car we drive, etc., etc. We don’t tell him, obvs (“oh.. we’re pretty new here… we can’t really remember where we live”) but he knows we’re LDS missionaries. So the next day we’re driving past our church building, and who do we see but Richard, hanging out in the parking lot. We got a kick out of that. Oh and Mom, I can’t find my mace. Maybe you better send me some.

Ok, now the important stuff. We tried to visit this less active girl who lives with her Grandma the other day. The girl let us in, introduced us to her Grandma, and left… I guess she thought we were there to visit her Grandma. So we stayed to talk with Sister Aubert for awhile. She is 92, and sharp as a tack. At the end of our visit she bore her testimony, grabbed our hands, and told us to always bear testimony with conviction, because there is nothing lukewarm about the Gospel. So here it is.

I know God loves me and He loves you, and I know Jesus Christ is my Savior and Redeemer, and I know that Heavenly Father answers my prayers. But you know what? So do a lot of people. There are a whole lot of good people out there with a whole lot of faith. And that’s important. But sometimes we get a little lukewarm when it comes to sharing our conviction that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is Christ’s Gospel restored on the earth today. Exactly how it was established during His earthly ministry. And the reason we do that is because we don’t want to step on any toes. We’d rather find common ground and feel uplifted by our mutual faith in God and in His Son Jesus Christ. But the fact is, I KNOW that God speaks to His children, and I KNOW that He spoke to Joseph Smith and directed Joseph to restore the fulness of the Gospel. The Book of Mormon is the word of God. It just is. Straight up. If you don’t believe me, believe in Christ. And if you believe in Christ, then you will believe in the divinity of the Book of Mormon because it contains the words of Christ. “And Christ will show unto you, with power and great glory, that they are His words.” 2 Nephi 33 (Just read the whole chapter)

And that’s the good word.

#Iloveyoualwaysforever #sodoesGod

Onward and upward,

Sister Joslin

 

horse

