I have glimpsed the celestial kingdom. 

Where: Grand Junction West Stake Center

When: All weekend long. But more specifically, November 17, 2013, 6:00 PM. 

What: Hymn Festival. Complete with world class choir, orchestra, and organist. 

Who: Angels, all arrayed in spotless white. 

This production was on par with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Except I loved it more than the MoTab because I loved the people performing. If only your heart could soar the way mine did when the show opened with “Praise to the Lord Almighty.” Or when they closed with “In Humility Our Savior.” Or when they sang everything in between. I’m still in awe. 

And this, on the heels of stake conference, during which the presiding authority and guest speaker was none other than Elder M. Russell Ballard. A true and living apostle of the Lord, Jesus Christ. Who, I happened to meet on Saturday, when my district was at the stake center doing interviews with President Murdock. And who, after conference, took about 30 minutes to meet with the 26 missionaries here in the valley. I’m still in awe. 

I have very little to say apart from that. But you should know that it smells like pot everywhere I go. Including right now. And in the institute parking lot. And walking down the street. And sometimes it is so strong that it envelopes you while you are driving… in your car… it just seeps in. So probably every time I smell pot I will look back fondly on my mission. 

Also, there are two Elders in Junction from Sparks. And a couple from Vegas. Home means Nevada to me. 

#iloveyoualwaysforever #sodoesGod

Sister Joslin
 
Image
