Sweet mother, where to begin? I guess a good place to start would be with a song:

 
I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22. 
 
As for the rest, I think it’s best to categorize. 
 
The Spiritual:
 
-This week Sister Allen and I had some… experiences. Not the least of which were a few bouts of sleep paralysis. We had some sleepless nights, and were feeling a little victimized when we went over to a ward members’ house to get some advice/ comfort. It happened to be the same family that let us skype for Mother’s Day – the Dubois family. First of all, I just need to tell you that I will praise their names for the rest of time. They are the most loving and caring people. Well anyway Brother Dubois gave both of us a Priesthood blessing, and I have to tell you, it was a life changing experience. I’m not sure if I’ve ever felt a more palpable presence of the Holy Ghost. We were all tearing up a little bit. And let me tell you, the power of the Priesthood is for real, and having a worthy Priesthood holder in my home is officially the most important thing. 
 
-Last week a friend sent me a talk that completely changed my reality. It’s called The Testifying and Challenging Missionary, by Alvin R. Dyer. Turns out, a testimony is just like any old muscle. Use it or lose it folks. Use it or lose it. So go out and declare what you know because the Holy Ghost will declare to all present (including yourself!) that the words you are speaking are true. Unless you’re teaching false doctrine. Don’t do that. 
 
The talk also teaches that we should extend challenges to people before they’re ready, because when they’re ready, it’s not a challenge anymore. So we’ve been testifying and challenging like mad. 
 
The Trivial:
 
-We found about 15 (or 3) horrifying spiders in our basement on Friday the 13th. I’m not saying the two are related. But I’m not saying they aren’t related either. 
 
-Have you ever shopped at a Walmart Neighborhood Market? You should. 
 
The Kind:
 
-Yesterday Sister Carpenter made the best lunch I have ever eaten in my entire life. French dips, salad (complete with bacon, avocado, grapes, pomegranate seeds, and poppy-seed dressing), and homemade key lime pie. When I told her I loved key lime pie, she said, “I’ve never made that before, but how about some chocolate cake?” I told her that would be amazing, but then she went and surprised me with the BEST (I’m serious) key lime pie I’ve ever had. Sister Carpenter is an angel. 
 
-The O’Connors gave me birthday pie at dinner. 
 
-This morning Sister Allen surprised me with a host of balloons and cupcakes. 
 
-I received the world’s kindest gifts from so many family and friends. Shout out to Ma and Doug, Boy and Ginny, Grandma, Keith and Marcie, Lori (and Joe and Kimmie) Plater, Sister Sara Jane Plater, Sister Sarah Deborah Allen, and Kate and Madeleine. I am honestly surrounded by the best people in the entire world. 
 
-Today the Cooks are making us birthday brunch and then taking us ice skating. Again, I don’t know how I got so lucky as to be friends with so many good people. 
 
 
The True-Life-Principles:
 
-Sister Allen and I are on a “live in the moment” kick. Every time we think about tomorrow, or next week, or next year, we say “but I am so happy to be right here right now.” Works every time. You should all try it, it will change your life. *Note: My mom has been telling me to do this for years, so credit to her. Sorry I’m just now trying it. 
 
-The other day Sister Allen said, “Remember when we went to Whole Foods to get mochi because we were having a bad day?” And I said, “That was the best! But why again were we having a bad day?” We couldn’t remember. All we could remember was the fun we had while making our day better. So take action, make your day better, remember the good, and forget the rest. And you can take that to the bank. 
 
Alright, that’s it. 
 
LOVE YOU ALL
 
#alwaysforever #sodoesGod
 
Sister Joslin

 

